Posted by: caryandjohn | April 5, 2013

KLR Katastrophy …

Well, catastrophe is perhaps a bit dramatic … but frame cracks are never really a good thing … unfortunately, cracked frames are a relatively common problem for high-mileage, heavily loaded and well used KLRs …

20130405-081911.jpg
After our New Year’s Baja adventure, I took my bike to my friend Daniel, who is a master-mechanic … Asked him to change the oil and tune the bike up …

20130405-082325.jpg
Welding up the frame cracks …

20130405-082445.jpg

20130405-082503.jpg
Failed where the rear of the frame ties into the bottom of the backbone …

20130405-082703.jpg
Heidi consulting with Daniel …

20130405-082809.jpg

20130405-082836.jpg

20130405-082858.jpg

I use my KLR to take me to some remote, rugged places and Daniel helps me by keeping the bike ready … thanks Daniel!

Responses

  1. Preperation and vigilance = no push or tow. Nice work.

    Sent from my MOTOROLA ATRIX™ HD on AT&T

    Cary and John wrote:

    > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com caryandjohn posted: “Well, catastrophe is perhaps a bit dramatic … but frame cracks are never really a good thing … unfortunately, cracked frames is a relatively common problem for high-mileage, heavily loaded and well used KLRs … After our New Year’s Baja adventure, “

  2. Hi Bob,
    Avoiding being stranded is the plan … we’ll see how it works out … cracks in the frame is usually the beginning of the end for a KLR … ha.
    — John A

  3. Well your getting your monies worth, good thing you caught that now.
    What are you thinking of replacing it with when the time comes?

  4. Hi Steve,
    I like the DRZ 400, but I now have a critical mass of KLR parts, Cary has a KLR, and I actually have another KLR frame I’ll probably swap out this winter, so, I guess I’m kind of stuck with KLRs, ha!
    See you around the campfire,
    — John A


Leave a Reply

Categories

