Posted by: caryandjohn | December 20, 2011

Map of Blood Meridian Country

John Sepich created this map of the geographic terrain covered in Cormac McCarthy’s Blood Meridian.

John Sepich created this map of the geographic terrain covered in Cormac McCarthy’s Blood Meridian for his companion piece, Notes On Blood Meridian. Blogger The Brooklyn added color.

I’ve been reading Blood Meridian by one of my favorite authors, Cormac McCarthy, who set most of the action in this particular book in Mexico in 1849-1850. Several of his other novels, All the Pretty Horses, The Crossing, Cities of the Plain, and No Country for Old Men are set in the desert South West and Mexico, which all happen to be wonderful places to ride a motorcycle, so when I came across this map, I thought I’d post it here so I can find it in the future.

Here is a link to the blog on which I found the map … click on the map, and it will also take you to the blog, biblioklept:

http://biblioklept.org/2010/09/30/a-map-of-blood-meridian/

Should also give me some motivation to study my Spanish! Ha. Apparently Cormac McCarthy decided to learn spanish later in life, so that he could give his “Border Trilogy” more authenticity …

Check out biblioklept, it is pretty interesting …

See you around the campfire …  — John

Leave a Reply

Categories

