Posted by: caryandjohn | November 28, 2011

Guest Blogger Grant: Awesome!

Cary’s wonderful brother, Grant, came for a visit recently, as you may recall … Grant wrote about his visit and is now our featured guest blogger … Awesome!

20111110-055104.jpg

California
by GRANT WHITE, 09/2011

The morning I left for California it felt like a normal day, but I knew I was set for an adventure of a lifetime.

I first had to go to school for two blocks. Then my mom picked me up and took me to Richmond airport to catch my plane. I did not go with my family; I was going with my boss Robert.

We were going because there was a world Porsche gathering at Laguna Seca Racetrack. We flew out of Richmond and landed in Chicago after 2 hours of flying.

We walked around Chicago airport for two hours until we had to catch the plane to San Francisco.

We landed in San Francisco 9:00 western time. We had to get our rental car and meet up with our friends that we were staying with. Then we had to go for a two-hour car ride to Carmel Valley to the house we rented. After we all ate dinner at Baja Fresh we all piled into the rental car.

We finally got to the house after two hours of driving. The next morning we all woke up and we went to this restaurant called Jeffy’s. After that we drove down the coast to see the cliffs and beaches.

Jeffery's ... Five Stars!

Jeffery's ... Five Stars!

The beaches there were different than the beaches that are on the east coast. Most of them are cliffs, and if it is a beach then it has darker colored sand.

The next day we went to the racetrack and looked at all the Porsches that came form Germany. There were many different cars.

Laguna Seca's Turn 4

Laguna Seca's Turn 4

The Corkscrew ...

The Corkscrew ...

A Porche at speed in the Corkscrew ...

A Porche at speed in the Corkscrew ...

Everything from the first Porsche all the way up to the brand new hybrid racecar was there. The prices varied as well everything from 20,000 dollars all the way up to 9.6 billon dollar.

A fancy Porche in Rothmans livery.

A fancy Porche in Rothmans livery.

A Pike's Peak open wheel racer ...

A Pike's Peak open wheel racer ...

The business end of the Pike's Peak racer ...

The business end of the Pike's Peak racer ...

One of the vintage racers ...

One of the vintage racers ...

The vintage racer engine ...

The vintage racer engine ...

All day long you could hear the pleasant rumble of the well-tuned racecars. On the racetrack were racecars zooming past u at flying speeds.

We also walked around the pits where the crews were working frantically on the racecars to get them ready for the race. In the pits we saw over 4-billon dollars worth of cars in a matter of an hour.

A 914 being raced by a privateer ...

A 914 being raced by a privateer ...

Once the day was over we all piled in the car and headed back to the house for dinner.

I was so excited for that nights because my sister, who lives in San Francisco, was coming down to hang out with me. She got there with her awesome husband John. It was way cool to see her and him.

The next morning we got up as soon as the sun rose. We had a fun day ahead of us. We had to drive back to San Francisco, but it was on motorcycles!

20111110-055232.jpg

My big sister and I went flying down the road towards the city. After 2 hours of riding we were in the city. We only had one day to see the whole city.

We drove the bike up and down the cities streets as fast as the law would allow. We saw everything; we went to China Town, Golden Gate Bridge, to the famous crooked Lombard Street.

After our great adventure in the city we went to the San Francisco motorcycle clubhouse to watch Moto GP. Once we finished watching that, we went back to her apartment to sleep.

The best thing about her apartment is the view you get in the morning. It is to die for.

20111110-055347.jpg

The last day was a sad day. I had to say good-bye to my favorite big sis and amazing John. I had to leave all my adventures there in California, but I will never forget that fun I had and the memories I made. I hope to see my sister soon.

I will remember this trip forever and always.

Leave a Reply

Categories

