Posted by: caryandjohn | May 26, 2009

Louisiana to Texas

I did get me some crawfish in Breaux Bridge, LA – not at Hawk’s – but at “Crazy ‘Bout Crawfish.” They were super yummy with some romalade sauce (for dipping), sweet potato French fries and cold iced sweet tea! Next stop –McGee’s Atchafalaya Basin Swamp Tours in Henderson, LA. I was the only person to sign up for the boat tour that afternoon – so I had my own private tour with Boat Captain, Waylon- who was born and raised in the area and comes from generations of boat captains and fishermen. I had bought some beer at the store and so it was cold Budweiser for Waylon and me – and wonderful story telling about the history of the swamp and its people from Waylon.
I had reserved a boat house for the evening and got to chatting with Sandy – the manager at McGee’s. She was super sweet and made me feel right at home. After watching the sunset outside my boat house, Sandy invited me over to her boat house just next door for dinner and drinks- super yummy crawfish in a creamy curry-like sauce over rice. I hung out for a few hours having drinks and listening/laughing to her tell the funniest stories- thanks Cindy – you made me stay just right!

Up the next morning- early. I took Interstate 10 for a bit and got off at Lake Charles to head down to see the Gulf Coast- then back up to pick up I10 again- Arriving to Giddings, Texas where Prophet lives on his family’s farm- a pretty full day- @ 400 miles. After resting a bit- Prophet and I headed over to Austin – about 60 miles west from Giddings- to the weekly meeting of the ‘HellBuellies’- Really a nice group of guys- I got lots of tips for my ride heading west- thanks HellBuellies!

I took the day off the next day and layed around the house- on Friday while Prophet went to his niece’s college graduation. Prophet’s sister Brenda and Ross came back with Prophet that evening and we stayed up and talked, drank and laughed. We watched the sun set over the pond (or “tank”) from Prophets back yard-which was gorgeous.

We got up the next day to head to Blanco TX where the party was going on for all the college graduates- out at Prophet’s neice Andrea’s boyfriend – Tyler’s home. 60+ family members and friends. A good time was had by all- with plenty of food- brisket and side dishes- drinks- a live band- OH and potato guns and the bashing of a computer and printer. We camped and made lots of new friends- really a friendly bunch.

Up the next morning- for more food and chatting. Then off to Luchenbach Texas! We took a scenic tour over there or some beautiful roads – even a gravel/dirt road! We caught some live music in Luchenbach and had a couple a beers, people watched and took pictures. I’m so glad Prophet made an effort to get us there- it really is a cool place- where “everybody is somebody!” Thanks Prophet for looking after me and showing me Texas. It was a good time!

Today I went over to the HOnda dealership and got the oil changed on the bike and had the good folks there at Cowboy Honda look over the bike and make sure I was in good shape before heading west. They went ahead and changed the brake and clutch fluid too- it needed it. So I’m set – I got a beer and took in the sights in downtown Austin – which was pretty cool and I ready to head on- its across Texas tomorrow where I’ll stay one more night in Texas before gettting into New Mexico and Arizona- really looking forward to some canyon cutting and twisties!

Leave a Reply

Categories

